Students and Scholars

Students, Scholars, and Alumni

Zhuo Liu
PhD student 

Zhuo Liu is interested in geological differentiation using constrained inversion over multi-physical data. His previous works are about perspectivity mapping of data and segmentation of geologic bodies via clustering over physical property through inversion. He is currently developing algorithms to recover basement relief and lateral change of physical property and also shares interests in machine learning in geophysical data interpretation in the mining industry.

Andréa Darrh
PhD student

Andréa is working on combining information from magnetic and magnetotellurics data through joint inversion as well as machine learning techniques. She is applying this work to problems in critical mineral exploration as well as volcanic hazards. She is also interested in electrical anisotropy and the effects it has on magnetotelluric data.

Brett Bernstein
PhD student

Brett’s work primarily focuses on applying machine learning to improve the way we collect and interpret geophysical data. Sparse interpolation methods such as matrix completion enable smaller quantities of data to be collected while still yielding high-quality data. Furthermore, Brett is also interested in deep learning, specifically using convolutional neural networks to identify and interpret features within data. Other interests include designing low-cost instrumentation with an emphasis on humanitarian aspects, and drone-based geophysics. 

Skye Hart
Ms student

Skye is interested in joint inversion of multiple geophysical data sets for mineral exploration and environmental applications. 

Ray Lowenstein
Ms student

Ray is new to Colorado School of Mines and is beginning work in CGEM by using forward modeling and inversion of gravity gradiometry data over 3D structures in comparison to ergodic sampling datasets.


Dawn Lipfert
Undergraduate student

Dawn is an undergraduate Junior in Geophysics starting her research analyzing magnetization direction. 


2022 Colton Konke, PhD

2022 Taqi Alyousuf, PhD

2021 Hanna Flamme, MSc 

2021 Nil Parkan, MSc

2021Andy McAliley, PhD

2020 Elizabeth Maag-Capriotti, PhD

2020 Joseph Capriotti, PhD 

2019 Zhuo Liu, MSc

2018 Aline Tavares Melo, PhD

2018 Andrew Paré, MSc

2017 Ryan North, PhD

2017 Qian Yin, MSc

2016 Leon Foks, PhD

2015 Susan Guzman, MSc

2015 Cericia Martinez, PhD

2015 Thomas Rapstine, MSc

2015 Jiajia Sun, PhD

2014 Camriel Coleman, MSc

2014 Brent Putman, MSc

2014 Anya Reitz, MSc

2013 Mohamed Abdulla, MSc

2013 Trevor Irons, PhD

2013 Kathryn Martin, MSc

2013 Rachel Vest Woolf, MSc

2012 M. Andy Kass, PhD

2011 Jeff Shoffner, MSc

2010 Kristofer Davis, PhD

2009 Julio Lyrio, MSc

2007 Barry Kirkendall, PhD

2007 Whitney Goodrich, MSc

2006 JeongMin Lee, MSc

2006 David Sinex, MSc

2005 Matthew Haney, Collaborator PhD from CWP

2005 Richard Krahenbuhl, PhD

2005 Sarah Shearer, MSc

2003 Alisa Green, MSc

2001 Qiaoluan Li, MSc